James L – Sky Box Tone Testing

With the Playground asset that I had just developed placed into Unity, I decided to test how this asset would look with a range of Sky boxes. The sky boxes that I test will be used inside of the final game environment and the most appropriate Sky box will be used for the final build testing scene.

I begun by importing a very interesting package that I have been using on my FMP called Sky Series Freebie. This package is full of incredibly interesting Sky Box Prefabs that can be used in any commercial project.

Below is the asset list that I imported into Unity from the Sky Series Asset Package…

2018-04-29_17h40_47

At this stage I begun to test any Sky Box prefabs that would be relevant to our Scene; Keeping in mind the childish style of the game I feel that a Sunny or Sunset scene would be most appropriate. A night time scene however could be utilised as a Map Variation in the future…

Below are the five results of the Sky boxes that I tested…

2018-04-29_17h41_04

Cloudy Sunny day

2018-04-29_17h41_09

Cloudy Night Time

2018-04-29_17h41_14

Cloudy Sun Set

2018-04-29_17h41_26

Surreal Mid Day Variation

2018-04-29_17h41_30

Clearer Sky Mid Day

From looking at all of the images above i have decided that the third image would be most appropriate. I really like this sky box due to how it adds an extra layer of tone and colour to the otherwise flat assets. This piece in turn should bring our environment more to life and will as a result make our world more interesting.

All of the above Sky boxes will be tested in engine and I will ask the team what Sky box they prefer; for now however I feel that this sky box will be the most appropriate and highest quality sky box for use in our game…

  • James L

Leave a comment