Jamie A. Environment Floor Carpet and Wood Textures.

Like before with the walls the floor sections made use of a flat plane texture and as such this does not require much in the way of discussion.

Floor_Carpet

To start this off lets look at the carpet now the carpet was the first floor section created and was at first going to be all across the floor but after talking with the group we decided upon creating two floor sections it was going to be at first four but it did not look good unlike using two sections so the two floors stuck.

for the carpet I wanted a material that looked like a carpet but was not an actual carpet as such a thing would be most likely very high in polycount and so I started to look at some plastic materials and eventually came across this one and with some tweaking and modifying i was able to turn it into a carpet or as some in the group said a roll on surface that is made of a rubbery material but regardless of whcih both of these ideas actually work rather well as from personal experience their was such a material common within a nursery I visit during high school and though the age range is higher for this group in this environment such a material would still be good and as such it being either a carpet or rubbery material is fine with me.

Floor_wood

For the next floor section I wanted to create a wooden floor but just having bare wood would be a terrible choice as splinters could form which can harm a child and as such I decided to create a fake wooden floor using those lamenated floor sections that have a wood texture printed onto them this was a more logical idea as this would allow for a surface which is smooth so as not to harm the children but also a material that is easy to clean off.

To make this I first used a wooden material as the base luckly substance painter has a material that perfectly fits the idea and so I used it as a base after I tweaked it to be less reflective and to have a darker colour to it, once that was done I then started to hand paint onto it the black lines that can be seen I did this because I wanted to give the wooden floor some depth and make it look like it was put togeather piece by piece and also to help break it up more for this I used a paint tool within substance painter and a key command that allows for a line to be drawn so I clicked on one side and then highlighted a path to the other side and applied it I then repeated this process to the smaller lines to help split up the panels more.

In the end I felt the wooden one came out better and it looks very to me with how little was actually done it this both surprised me and made it feel better in creating it, and when I combined the two floors and included the floor buffers between them I was more content with how it looked and how the well the three parts work togeather.

Leave a comment