James L – Pre-Order Dolls House Development

After I finished developing my concept art I begun to develop a small Dolls House asset that could be used as a Pre Order Bonus for the game. I was thinking that this Dolls House could be the case that the game comes in or just an additional toy that releases alongside the games release.

I initially begun creating the asset via using the built in measurement tools inside of Maya. Once I had the correct measurements planned out I started to create the actual separate pieces of the asset e.g. Door, Windows etc.

2017-11-30_13h38_17

Because I knew that this asset was going to be used in 3D Printing I decided not to bother making a High Poly Mesh for baking; instead I just made the initial Mesh to a Higher Poly Count around points of interest, such as the rim of the roof…

Using a Seamless modular development Workflow I was left with the following Unwrap…

2017-12-04_10h45_22

At this stage I then ventured into Substance Painter in order to begin texturing the Asset. I used base Plastic Textures in order to give a realistic Plastic Effect. At this stage however I felt that the Mesh looked rather boring; in order to spice up the quality of the texture I made a range of Alpha Maps that can be placed all around the Mesh in order to make the asset look more interesting…

With the use of these Stencils and various other effects such as Rust and Dirt I was able to create the following effect…

2017-11-30_13h34_202017-11-30_13h35_34

I am rather happy with this asset but I personally feel that the Mesh is too cluttered with too much Information e.g. Leaves Everywhere! If I was to redevelop this asset I would simplify the textures and instead try to convey more information through the Mesh…

  • James L

Leave a comment